Administration in Imphal

Imphal was divided into two - Imphal East district and Imphal West district on June 1997. The city of Imphal falls under Imphal West district in Manipur. The deputy commissioner heads the district administration. Elected bodies like municipality, state assembly, judiciary are constituted for proper management and implementation of developmental schemes.

Imphal City

Imphal Municipal Council

Imphal Municipal Council takes all the responsibility towards development of the Imphal city. There are 27 wards under Imphal municipal council. The following strategies are adopted by the council in order to achieve a balanced development of the region.

  • Preparing perspective plans
  • Allocation of development finance
  • To set up alternative growth centers
  • To develop  infrastructure facilities
  • To provide market access and E-commerce

Imphal Municipal Corporation
Contact No.0385- 262255 / 262184
email: [email protected]

Department of Municipal Administration, Housing & Urban Development (MAHUD)

A special department of the government of Manipur is MAHUD that has been formed for larger development of the city. Following are the primary duties of the department:

  • The department is responsible for all function and programs that are related to Administration of Municipal Council, Small Town Committee and Nagar Panchayat.
  • All matters that are related to Administration of the State Town & Country Planning Organization.
  • All matters that are related to Urban Development that includes Urban Drainage, Urban Sanitation, Urban Traffic and Transportation and Urban Sewerage.
  • All matters that are related to Housing, both Rural and Urban.
  • All matters that are related to the Control and Supervision of Planning and Development Authority.
  • All matters that are related to administration and Housing Board.

Contact details
Address: 4th floor, Western Block,
New Secretariat,
Email Id:  [email protected]

Manipur Lok Sabha Constituency

The Manipur Lok Sabha constituency comprises of two segments: Inner Manipur Lok Sabha constituency and Outer Manipur Lok Sabha constituency.

Inner Manipur Lok Sabha constituency

Inner Manipur Lok Sabha constituency  consists of the following Legislative Assembly segments.

  • Khundrakpam
  • Heingang
  • Khurai
  • Khetrigao
  • Thongju
  • Keirao
  • Andro
  • Lamlai
  • Thangmeiband
  • Uripok
  • Sagolband
  • Keisamthong
  • Singjamei
  • Yaiskul
  • Wangkhei
  • Sekmai (SC)
  • Lamsang
  • Konthoujam
  • Patsoi
  • Langthabal
  • Naoriya Pakhanglakpa
  • Wangoi
  • Mayang Imphal
  • Nambol
  • Oinam
  • Bishenpur
  • Moirang
  • Thanga
  • Kumbi
  • Lilong
  • Thoubal
  • Wangkhem

Outer Manipur Lok Sabha constituency

Outer Manipur Lok Sabha constituency is comprises the following assembly segments

  • Heirok
  • Wangjing Tentha
  • Khangabo
  • Wabgai
  • Kakching
  • Hiyanglam
  • Sugnoo
  • Jiribam
  • Chandel (ST)
  • Tengnoupal (ST)
  • Phungyar (ST)
  • Ukhrul (ST)
  • Chingai (ST)
  • Saikul (ST)
  • Karong (ST)
  • Mao (ST)
  • Tadubi (ST)
  • Kangpokpi
  • Saitu (ST)
  • Tamei (ST)
  • Tamenglong (ST)
  • Nungba (ST)
  • Tipaimukh (ST)
  • Thanlon (ST)
  • Henglep (ST)
  • Churachandpur (ST)
  • Saikot (ST)
  • Singhat (ST)

Important names in Manipur Government

Shri Vinod Kumar Duggal

Chief Minister
Shri Okram Ibobi Singh

Hon’ble Speaker
Shri Thokchom Lokeshwar Singh

Chief Secretary
Shri P C Lawmkunga

You may also like to visit

    Free Listing